About Us

The K.M. Hunter Charitable Foundation has portfolios in three sectors. They are Cultural, Social Services and The Environment. Within all three portfolios, we are committed to supporting organizations dedicated to helping those who are marginalized, including the homeless, disadvantaged youth, women, indigenous voices, the LGBTQ community, and preserving and protecting habitat for endangered species in Ontario.

With the exception of an ongoing grant to Sick Kids Foundation in the area of mental health, we do not support any other medical research programs.

Our offices are in Toronto. We only support organizations based in Ontario, with the exception of the AIDS in Africa program, which provides grants to International organizations.


Kenneth Martin Hunter was the Founding member of the KM Hunter Charitable Foundation.  He incorporated the foundation in 1967.  Originally the Foundation funded Medical Research and Social Services. Kenneth ran the foundation with the help of his two sons Martin and William until he died in 1991.

Martin and William took over the running of the Foundation and continued to support the two original areas of major interest but also began to fund organizations and projects in the fields of nature conservancy, international development and cultural activities. At the end of 2003, the foundation was divided. Martin Hunter remained president of the original K.M. Hunter Charitable Foundation in Toronto, which continued to fund social services, conservation and cultural initiatives. W.T. Hunter became President of the Peterborough K.M. Hunter Charitable Foundation, which funds medical research and international development. The K. M. Hunter Charitable Foundation in Toronto now has a board that comprises members of the Hunter Family and a few outside members. 

Sarah Hunter is President and oversees the everyday running of the Foundation.

Board Members, Guy Hunter, Doug Hart, Andrea Holtslander, Eleanor Hart and Maria Calandra meet regularly as board members and interface with Sarah Hunter around donation decisions.

Guy Hunter handles the social services portfolio; Sarah Hunter handles the cultural portfolio and Douglas Hart handles decisions related to the environmental portfolio. Sarah Hunter is President, Guy Hunter is Vice President, Maria Calandra is Secretary and Doug Hart is Treasurer. Group decisions are made by the Board, which meets 2 to 3 times a year.