Awards Archive (1995-2022)

Awards Archive (1995-2022)

The K.M. Hunter Artist Awards existed between 1995-2018. The awards were created by Martin Hunter and covered six disciplines; Dance, Literature, Media Arts, Music, Theatre and Visual Arts. The Awards were conceived and executed with the help of Janet Stubbs and Arts Officers at the Ontario Arts Council

Recipients were recommended for this award by the Ontario Arts Council juries who put names forward for juries specifically designed for the Award. The award was created to celebrate the artists in mid-career for their Artistic output. An archive of the recipients, including videos of their work, can be found below. 

In 2021, the K.M. Hunter Charitable Foundation established a new Indigenous Artist Award administered through the Toronto Arts Council Foundation.

With the assistance of the Work Integrated Learning team at Durham College under the supervision of media content provider Bernard Leroux, the video below was produced to promote the award and encourage Indigenous artists to apply.


Congratulations to interdisciplinary performing artist and initiator Ange Loft, recipient of the 2022 Indigenous Artist Award. Ange’s achievements were celebrated on October 18, 2022 at ImagineNATIVE’s Welcome Gathering for their 2022 Film + Media Arts Festival in Toronto. As part of this award, Ange Loft was invited to designate a professional artist mentor/Elder or mentee/protégée. Ange named Jesse Wabegijig for the mentee prize.

We would also like to acknowledge 2022 finalists Rebecca Baird, a senior Nehiyaw Cree/Métis mixed-media visual artist, and Sandra Laronde, a multidisciplinary artist working as a director, producer, choreographer, digital storyteller, and author.


A big congratulations goes out to Greg Staats (@gclarks) recipient of the inaugural Indigenous Artist Award. We also would like to acknowledge Cynthia Lickers-Sage (@cyn_sage) and Joseph Sagaj (@josephsagaj), who were also finalists of the award for 2021.


Dance: Christine Friday

Literature: Shane Book

Media Arts:  Luo Li

Music: Allison Cameron

Theatre: Matthew Heiti

Visual Arts: Cree Stevens

2018 interview 2018 CoChair of the Artist Awards, Bernie Leroux.


Dance: Apologia Velasquez

Literature: Marianne Apostolides

Media Arts: Elizabeth Lazebnik

Music: Jaron Freeman-Fox

Theatre: Claire Calnan

Visual Arts: Maura Doyle


Dance: Penny Couchie

Film: Terril Calder

Literature: Zoe Whittall

Music: Anne Lindsay

Music: Brian Harman

Theatre: Charlotte Corbiel-Colman

Visual Arts: Christian Chapman


Dance: Linnea Swan

Film: Maria-Saroja Ponnambalam

Literature: Kevin Connolly

Music: Kevin Chief

Theatre: Kate Story

Visual Arts: Barry Ace

K.M. Hunter Charitable Foundation’s 20th Anniversary video


Dance: Danielle Baskerville

Media Arts: Igor Drljaca

Literature: Emil Sher

Music: Anna Hostman

Theatre: Beatriz Pizano

Visual Arts: Stephen Fakiyesi


Dance: Meagan O’Shea

Film & Video: Amanda Strong

Literature: Tanya Lukin-Linklater

Music: Raven Kanatakta Polson-Lahache

Theatre: Evalyn Parry

Visual Arts: Andrew Rucklidge


Dance: Heidi Strauss

Dance: Darryl A. Hoskins

Film & Video: Ayelen Liberona

Literature: Shani Mootoo

Music: Paul Frehner

Theatre: Rosa Laborde

Visual Arts: Jean Marshall


Dance: Valerie Calam

Literature: Jenny Sampirisi

Film & Video: Kazik Radwanski

Music: John Farah

Theatre: Anusree Roy

Visual Arts: Kerri Reid


Dance: Bageshree Vaze

Dance: Kathleen Rea

Film & Video: Roberto Santaguida

Literature: Steven Heighton

Music: David Current

Theatre: D’Bi Young

Visual Arts: David Hannan


Dance: Sylvie Bouchard

Film & Video: Juan Nicolas Pereda

Music: Dan Goldman

Literature: Kyo MacLear

Theatre: Nauni Parkinson

Visual Arts: Mary Catherine Newcomb


Dance: Robert Glumbeck

Dance: Natasha Bakht

Film & Video: Daniel Cockburn

Literature: Jonathan Bennett

Music: Katrina Curcin

Theatre: Lisa Codrington

Theatre: Jonathan Garfinkel

Visual Arts: Julie Cosgrove


Dance: Sasha Ivanochko

Interdisciplinary Arts: Isabella Stefanescu

Literature: Chris Chambers

Music: Omar Daniel

Music: Maryem Tollar

Theatre: Joseph Pierre

Visual Arts: Tor Lukasik-Foss


Dance: Susan Burpee

Interdisciplinary Arts: Geoffrey Pugen

Literature: Matthew Tierney

Music: Anne Lindsay

Theatre: Sonja Mills

Visual Arts: Risa Horowitz


Dance: Kate Alton

Dance: Michael Trent

Literature: Nila Gupta

Music: Quinsin Nachoff

Theatre: Marjorie Chan

Visual Arts: June Pak


Dance: Kate Alton

Dance: Michael Trent

Literature: Nila Gupta

Music: Quinsin Nachoff

Theatre: Marjorie Chan

Visual Arts: June Pak


Dance: Lesandra Dobson

Dance: Santee Smith

Literature: Sheila Heti

Music: James Rolfe

Theatre: Kelly McIntosh

Visual Arts: Greg A. Hill

Visual Arts: David McFarlane


Dance: Yvonne Ng

Literature: Ken Babstock

Music: Eve Egoyan

Music: Martin Tielli

Theatre: Ross Manson

Visual Arts: Florencia Berinstein

Visual Arts: Kelly Mark


Dance: Marie-Josée Chartier

Literature: Dennis Bock

Music: Phil Dwyer

Theatre: Julie Reitzel

Theatre: Peter Reitzel

Visual Arts: Janet Morton

Visual Arts: Lois Andison


Dance: Kim Frank

Literature: Peter Darbyshire

Music: Alice Ho

Music: Andrea Koziol

Theatre: Erika Hennebury

Theatre: Ruth Madoc-Jones

Visual Arts: Shary Boyle


Dance: Carmen Romero

Dance: Susanna Hood

Literature: Gary Barwin

Literature: Nalo Hopkinson

Visual Arts: Susan Dobson


Music: Linda C. Smith

Theatre: Alon Nashman


Media Arts: C. Grace Kary

Literature: Daniel Nearing

Literature: Norman Ravvin

Literature: Sasenarine Persaud


Dance: Allen Kaeja

Visual Arts: Paul Safarian